Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Jan '12 10

Sporto Vilkai wins Vilnius Cup Second Year in a Row

by www.baseballeurope.com

On December 28th and 29th the Vilnius Cup was held in Vilnius, Lithuania. The Cup is an annual indoor international baseball tournament in the Cadet division featuring teams from Lithuania as well as neighboring countries. This year’s tournament hosted a tournament-record 16 teams from six different countries (Lithuania, Estonia, Poland, Belarus, Czech Republic).

The level of play between teams in the tournament was both of high quality and even throughout, with many games ending in small margins or in a tie. Each year the quality of play among all teams has improved.

Vilnius Sporto Vilkai won the tournament for the second year in a row in similar fashion, defeating Brest Zubry (Belarus) in the finals by a score of 10-2. Third place honors were earned by Moscow SDJŠSOR (Russia) by defeating Trebic Nuclears (Czech Republic) 3-2 in the bronze medal game.

The tournament champions, Vilnius “Sporto Vilkai”, were very happy with their results and hope to carry this success through to the European and World Championships in the Cadet division for 2012. Tournament MVP honors went to Marius Balandis of Vilnius “Sporto Vilkai”. The best player from each team was selected to the All-Tournament team. Honors were also given to the tournament’s best pitcher and hitter.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite all Clubs and Federations to next year’s Vilnius Cup 2012

for full tournament results go to: Beisbolo fanai

Final Tournament Standings:
1. Vilnius „Sporto vilkai“ (LTU)
2. Brest „Zubry“ I (Belarus)
3. Moscow SDJŠSOR (Russia)
4. Trebic Nuclears“ (Czech Republic)
5. Brno „Draci“ (Czech Republic)
6. Utena „Vėtra“ (LTU)
7. BK „Vilnius“ I (LTU)
8. Brest „Zubry“ II (Belarus)
9. „Kiili Panthers“ (Estonia)
10. Skidelis „Sugar Storm“ (Belarus)
11. Kaunas „Lituanica“ (LTU)
12. Dzialdovo „Yankees“ (Poland)
13. BK „Vilnius“ II (LTU)
14. Kaunas Region „Tigrai“ (LTU)
15. Radviliškis „Bėgiai“ (LTU)
16. Vilnius Women’s Baseball Team (LTU)

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress