Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Jun '10 23

Recaps: DOOR Neptunus breaks 21-year old Record in Hoofdklasse

Almere Magpies – DOOR Neptunus 1-5

NEP 000 200 210  5 12 0
ALM 000 100 000  1  6 3

Box score

DOOR Neptunus beat the Almere Magpies 5-1 on Tuesday evening in a make-up game in the Dutch Hoofdklasse. It was their 19th straight win, breaking their own league record, which was set in 1989. The club from Rotterdam now has won 29 of 30 games this season, leading the standings by 5.5 games over Corendon Kinheim.

The reigning champion took the lead in the top of the fourth, when Raily Legito and Danny Rombley walked with the bases loaded. Almere answered with a sac fly by Ferd van Stekelenburg in the bottom of the frame. It was the last time this evening that they would score. RBI singles by Jeroen Sluijter and Mourik Huijser in the seventh extended the lead to three runs for Neptunus. One inning later Danny Rombley scored the fifth run on an error.

Leon Boyd (W 6-0) struck out eight batters in seven solid innings, allowing six hits, a run and three walks. He now stands at 6-0 with a stellar 0.36 ERA this season. Kenny van Kampen (L 0-1) gave up four hits, two runs and five bb in 3 2/3 innings.

DOOR Neptunus hasn’t lost a game in the Hoofdklasse since May 6th, when L&D Amsterdam prevailed 3-2 in twelve innings. Next up on the agenda for the club are the all-time highs for most wins in a season (38, 1999, 2002) and the fewest losses (5, 1989). They are all held by Neptunus.

Rogier van Zon published the Neptunus rosters from 1989 and 2010 on Honkbalsite.com:

18 Wins in a row in 1989: Coaches: Huub Kohl, Ab Bruinekool, Jan Collins; 13 Players: Jim Wasem, Eric de Bruin, Robert Eenhoorn, Marlon Fluonia, Patrick Vielvoye, Ken Brauckmiller, Wim Martinus, Marcel Buurman, Bob van Aalen, Rick Corbeau, Geoffry Kohl, Harry Koster, Eric de Vries

19 Wins in a row and counting in 2010: Coaches: Steve Janssen, Jan Collins, Adonis Kemp, Wim Martinus; 22 Players: Jorian van Acker, Jeffrey Arends, Marvin Bleij, Leon Boyd, Shaldimar Daantji, Benjamin Dille, Berry van Driel, Niels Harteveld, Kevin Heijstek, Mourik Huijser, Dwayne Kemp, Eugene Kingsale, Raily Legito, Diegomar Markwell, Martijn Meeuwis, Richard Orman, Eldrion Regina, Danny Rombley, Dushan Ruzic, Roy Seltenrijch, Jeroen Sluijter, Kevin van Veen


# Team W T L R+ R- .pct GB Streak
1 DOOR Neptunus 39 0 3 297 78 .928 0 W4
2 Corendon Kinheim 30 0 11 248 133 .731 8.5 L2
3 L&D Amsterdam 25 0 17 210 147 .595 14 W2
4 Konica Minolta Pioniers 22 0 20 193 134 .523 17 W3
5 Mr.Cocker HCAW 19 0 23 174 210 .452 20 W3
6 Sparta/Feyenoord 13 1 28 134 229 .321 25.5 L4
7 ADO 9 1 31 109 261 .231 29 L10
8 Almere Magpies 9 0 33 109 282 .214 30 L3

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress