Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Jan '10 10

KNBSB hands out 2009 Star Awards in Baseball and Softball

News - Dutch Baseball Leagues, News - Dutch National Teams, News - Dutch Softball Leagues Comments Off on KNBSB hands out 2009 Star Awards in Baseball and Softball

Ryan Murphy

On Saturday afternoon the Royal Netherlands Baseball and Softball Federation (KNBSB) came together for the 2009 Stars Awards Gala and 2010 New Year Reception at the House of Sports in Nieuwegein. The Canadian Ryan Murphy of vice champion Konica Minolta Pioniers was the big winner, receiving the MVP award and the best pitcher trophy. He batted .312 (OBP .404/SLG .420) with two homeruns, 21 runs scored and 30 RBI in 42 games. He also had a 10-2 record with an ERA of 0.89 and 104 strikeouts (15 walks) in 110 2/3 innings. It was his third season in the Dutch Hoofdklasse. Eugene Kingsale (DOOR Neptunus) and Danny Rombley (Corendon Kinheim) were second and third in the MVP voting.

2009 champion DOOR Neptunus got honored twice. Steve Janssen was named Coach of the Year. Benjamin Dille received the MVP-award for the Holland Series. Murphy’s teammate with the Pioniers, Jefferson Muzo, got the trophy for the most stolen bases (23). Corendon Kinheim also had two winners with Bryan Engelhardt (Most Homeruns, 8 ) and future New York Met Björn Hato (best young player). Kenny Berkenbosch of L&D Amsterdam was the best batter with a .402 batting average. Sharlon Schoop of the San Francisco Giants was named most talented Under-23 national team player. Jim Ploeger of Almere’90 was the best junior pitcher. The father of Florida Marlins’ starting pitcher Rick van den Hurk, Wim van den Hurk, got honored for Bixie Baseball, his Baseball Academy in the Netherlands.

Baseball Winners:

  • MVP: Ryan Murphy (Konica Minolta Pioniers)
  • Best Pitcher: Ryan Murphy (Konica Minolta Pioniers)
  • Best Batter: Kenny Berkenbosch (L&D Amsterdam)
  • Coach of the Year: Steve Janssen (DOOR Neptunus)
  • MVP Holland Series: Benjamin Dille (DOOR Neptunus)
  • Homerun King: Bryan Engelhardt (Corendon Kinheim)
  • Most Stolen Bases: Jefferson Muzo (Konica Minolta Pioniers)
  • Guus van der Heijden Memorial Trophy: Sharlon Schoop (San Francisco Giants)
  • Roel de Mon Award: Jim Ploeger (Almere Magpies)
  • Ron Fraser Award: Björn Hato (Corendon Kinheim)
  • Leen Volkerijk Award: Wim van den Hurk

In the Softball department 2009 champion Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers, Sparks Haarlem and Euro Stars combined to receive seven of the nine awards. Marloes Fellinger (Sparks Haarlem) was named Most Valuable Player and Homerun Queen. She batted .420 (OBP .500/SLG .700) with five homeruns, 31 runs scored and 28 RBI in 35 games. Her teammate Saskia Kosterink had the most stolen bases (18) in 2009. Aimee Murch (16-5, ERA 1.09, 134.1 IP, 143 SO, 31 BB) of Iber Lingua Terrasvogels was named best pitcher, Mackenzie Smith (AVG .447) of the Euro Stars best batter. Tigers players Virginie Anneveld and Ginger de Weert got honored as best national team player, respective best young pitcher. Kim Donkers (Euro Stars) was named most talented player of the year. Coach of the year was Berend Mannessen (DSS).

Softball Winners:

  • MVP: Marloes Fellinger (Sparks Haarlem)
  • Best Pitcher: Aimee Murch (Iber Lingua Terrasvogels)
  • Best Batter: Mackenzie Smith (Euro Stars)
  • Coach of the Year: Berend Mannessen (DSS)
  • Talent of the Year: Kim Donkers (Euro Stars)
  • Homerun Queen: Marloes Fellinger (Sparks Haarlem)
  • Most Stolen Bases: Saskia Kosterink (Sparks Haarlem)
  • Best Young Pitcher: Ginger de Weert (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers)
  • Most Talented National Team Player: Virginie Anneveld (Computer SOS Tex Town Tigers)

Photo: © Ron Wickert, www.eott.nl

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress