Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Sep '12 26

International venues, pools, format and dates announced for 2013 World Baseball Classic

Press Release Major League Baseball

Japan, Taiwan and Puerto Rico Join Phoenix as Hosts of First Round Games; Second Round Contests to be Played at Tokyo Dome, Marlins Park; Classic to Begin on March 2nd in Japan, Taiwan; Final on March 19th at AT&T Park

World Baseball Classic, Inc. announced the international venues, pools, format and dates for the 2013 World Baseball Classic, which will begin play on Saturday, March 2nd.

Japan, which has hosted a first round pool at the Tokyo Dome in each of the previous two World Baseball Classics, will be home to first and second round pools in 2013. Opening round contests in Pool A will be held in Fukuoka at the Fukuoka Yahoo! Japan Dome from March 2nd-6th, featuring host Japan, China, Cuba (pending license approval) and a Qualifier winner to be determined.

Taichung, Taiwan will make its debut as a host city for World Baseball Classic games, holding contests in Pool B at Intercontinental Stadium from March 2nd-5th. The venue will feature Australia, Korea, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and a Qualifier winner to be determined.

San Juan, Puerto Rico will host World Baseball Classic games for the third consecutive time at Hiram Bithorn Stadium after hosting a first and second round pool in 2006, and a first round pool in 2009. Games in Pool C, being played from March 7th-10th, include host Puerto Rico, the Dominican Republic, Venezuela and a Qualifier winner to be determined.

Chase Field and Salt River Fields at Talking Stick in Arizona, which were previously announced as first round venues, will host the teams in Pool D from March 7th-10th. Teams competing in the pool include host United States, Italy, Mexico and a Qualifier winner to be determined.

Second round games will return to the Tokyo Dome in Tokyo, Japan from March 8th-12th, and will feature the winners and runners-up from Pool A and Pool B, while Marlins Park in Miami will host the winners and runners-up from Pool C and Pool D from March 12th-16th.

San Francisco’s A&T Park will host the Semi-Finals and Final of the 2013 World Baseball Classic from March 17th-19th in its debut as a host city for the event, succeeding San Diego’s PETCO Park (2006) and Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles (2009) as the host of the Semi-Finals and Final. AT&T Park, which is currently in its 13th season as the home of the Giants, has hosted Major League Baseball’s 2007 All-Star Game and the World Series in 2002 and 2010.

The first round of the 2013 World Baseball Classic will once again feature a round-robin format with each team playing each of the other teams in their pool once, totaling six games played at each venue. The top two teams in each pool will advance to the second round, which features a modified double-elimination format, also totaling six games at each venue. The winners and runners-up from each second round venue will advance to the single-elimination championship round at AT&T Park, which will consist of Semi-Final contests on Sunday, March 17th and Monday, March 18th, and the Final on Tuesday, March 19th.

The World Baseball Classic, which is officially sanctioned by the International Baseball Federation (IBAF), will for the first time in 2013 be recognized as the official national team World Championship, with the winner being crowned the 2013 World Baseball Classic Champion and the IBAF World Champion.

“We look forward to bringing the 2013 World Baseball Classic to the Fukuoka and Taichung communities while also returning to San Juan and Tokyo, two cities that have been tremendous hosts of this unique tournament,” said Paul Archey, President of World Baseball Classic, Inc. “Since its inception, the World Baseball Classic has maintained the goal of growing and enhancing the global interest of the game by showcasing the best players in the world competing for their countries. We are thrilled that the IBAF will now recognize the World Baseball Classic as its official World Championship.”

“The national pride that emerges during the World Baseball Classic – not only from the players, but the fans – is awe-inspiring, and we’re excited about the venues and locations selected to host Classic games,” said Tim Slavin, WBCI Board Member. “The local flavor in each host venue coupled with the fan support for the nations competing in those locations surely will provide fans and players one of the most memorable baseball experiences of their lives.”

Provisional rosters for all 16 participating teams will be announced by World Baseball Classic, Inc. on December 3rd at the 2012 Baseball Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tennessee. In conjunction with the announcement of rosters, ticket strips will also go on sale on December 3rd. Ticket strips will include tickets to each of the six games at each venue (first and second round) or each of the three games for the Semi-Finals and Final in San Francisco. Fans who register online at www.worldbaseballclassic.com will be provided an exclusive sales window to buy tickets ahead of the public sale.

The four qualifying teams will be assigned to pools following the conclusion of the remaining qualifiers in November. Spain will make its debut in the World Baseball Classic after winning its Qualifier pool at Roger Dean Stadium in Jupiter, Florida, which also included Israel, France and South Africa. Canada has also earned a berth in the Classic after winning its Qualifier pool at Armin-Wolf Arena in Regensburg, Germany, which also included the Czech Republic, Germany and Great Britain. The two remaining Qualifiers will be played at Xinzhuang Stadium in New Taipei City, Taiwan from November 15th-18th and at Rod Carew Stadium in Panama City, Panama from November 15th-19th. The four teams competing in Taiwan include host Chinese Taipei, New Zealand, the Philippines and Thailand, while the teams competing to advance from Panama include host Panama, Brazil, Colombia and Nicaragua.

Photo by Walter Keller

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress