Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Mar '17 24

All-Tournament Team, MVP for 2017 World Baseball Classic named / Wladimir Balentien best Outfielder

2017 World Baseball Classic Comments Off on All-Tournament Team, MVP for 2017 World Baseball Classic named / Wladimir Balentien best Outfielder


Press release World Baseball Classic, Inc.

This evening World Baseball Classic, Inc. (WBCI) announced the selections of the 2017 World Baseball Classic Most Valuable Player and the 2017 All-World Baseball Classic Team.  The selections were made by a panel of broadcasters and media members.

United States pitcher Marcus Stroman, who took a no-hitter into the seventh inning of tonight’s WBC Championship Game, has been named the Most Valuable Player of the 2017 WBC.  Stroman’s 15.1 innings pitched, in which he fashioned a 2.35 ERA, were a team high for WBC Champion Team USA.  He joins Team Japan pitcher Daisuke Matsuzaka, who earned the honor in both the 2006 and 2009 events, and Dominican Republic second baseman Robinson Canó, who won for the tournament’s 2013 edition.

The following players have been selected to the 2017 All-World Baseball Classic Team (^ indicates a unanimous choice):

Position Player Team 2017 Tournament Statistics
C YADIER MOLINA^ Puerto Rico .333, 2 HR, 6 RBI, 4 R
1B ERIC HOSMER^ USA .385, 1 HR, 5 RBI, 3 2B, 6 R
2B JAVIER BÁEZ Puerto Rico .308, 1 HR, 5 RBI, 4 R, 4 SB
3B CARLOS CORREA Puerto Rico .333, 3 HR, 9 RBI, 2 SB, 10 R*
SS FRANCISCO LINDOR Puerto Rico .370, 2 HR, 4 RBI, 1 2B, 7 R
OF WLADIMIR BALENTIEN^ Kingdom of the Netherlands .615, 4 HR, 12 RBI, 1.115 SLG, 10 R*, 29 TB
OF GREGORY POLANCO Dominican Republic .579, 1 HR, 2 RBI, .842 SLG
DH CARLOS BELTRÁN Puerto Rico .435, 5 RBI, 1 2B, 4 R
P KODAI SENGA Japan 0.82 ERA, 11.0 IP, 7 H, 1 BB, 16 SO*
P MARCUS STROMAN (MVP) USA 1-1, 2.35 ERA, 3 GS, 15.1 IP, 9 SO
P JOSH ZEID Israel 0.00 ERA, 2 SV, 10.0 IP, 5 H, 10 SO

The previous all-tournament teams have included:

2006: Catcher Tomoya Satozaki, Japan; first baseman Seung Yeop Lee, Korea; second baseman Yulieski Gourriel of Cuba; third baseman Adrian Beltre, Dominican Republic; shortstop Derek Jeter, USA; outfielders Ken Griffey Jr. of the USA, Jong Beom Lee of Korea and Ichiro Suzuki of Japan; designated hitter Yoandri Garlobo of Cuba; and pitchers Daisuke Matsuzaka (MVP) of Japan, Yadel Marti of Cuba and Chan Ho Park of Korea.

2009: Catcher Ivan Rodriguez, Puerto Rico; first baseman Tae Kyun Kim, Korea; second baseman José Lopez, Venezuela; third baseman Bum Ho Lee, Korea; shortstop Jimmy Rollins, USA; outfielders Frederich Cepeda and Yoenis Céspedes of Cuba and Norichika Aoki of Japan; designated hitter Hyun Soo Kim of Korea; and pitchers Daisuke Matsuzaka (MVP) and Hisashi Iwakuma of Japan and Jungkeun Bong of Korea.

2013: Catcher Yadier Molina, Puerto Rico; first baseman Edwin Encarnación, Dominican Republic; second baseman Robinson Canó (MVP), Dominican Republic; third baseman David Wright, USA; shortstop José Reyes, Dominican Republic; outfielders Angel Pagán of Puerto Rico, Nelson Cruz of the Dominican Republic and Michael Saunders of Canada; designated hitter Hirokazu Ibata, Japan; and pitchers Kenta Maeda of Japan, Nelson Figueroa of Puerto Rico and Fernando Rodney of the Dominican Republic.

No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress