Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Jul '20 07

2020 MLB 60-Game Schedule Unveiled; opening July 23



Press release Major League Baseball

Major League Baseball unveiled the 60-game schedule for the 2020 regular season, which will begin with two games on ESPN on Thursday, July 23rd, followed by fourteen games on Opening Day presented by Mastercard and T-Mobile on Friday, July 24th, and a full 15-game slate on Saturday, July 25th. Opening night on ESPN will feature the defending World Series Champion Washington Nationals hosting the New York Yankees at Nationals Park at 7:08 p.m. (ET), followed by the San Francisco Giants visiting their NL West-rival Los Angeles Dodgers at Dodger Stadium at 10:08 p.m. (ET)/7:08 p.m. (PT).

The revised 2020 schedule features each Club playing 40 games against intradivision opponents, as well as 20 games against their opposite league’s corresponding geographical division (i.e., East vs. East, Central vs. Central and West vs. West). Additional details on the 60-game schedule include:

  • 40 Divisional Games (20 home games and 20 road games)
  • Each Club will play three series and 10 total games against each divisional opponent
  • The breakdown of divisional games against each opponent is either: seven home and three road; three home and seven road; four home and six road; or six home and four road
  • 20 Interleague Games (10 home games and 10 road games)
  • Eight total series, including four home and four road
  • Each Club will play six games against their natural Interleague rival (three home & three road)
  • Three home games against an opponent
  • Three road games against an opponent
  • Four two-game series (four home games and four road games)
  • Each Club will have six off-days in the schedule from Friday, July 24th-Sunday, September 27th
  • The four Clubs that begin the season on Thursday, July 23rd will have an additional off-day in the schedule

ESPN will also feature three contests on Opening Day, including the Atlanta Braves at New York Mets at 4:10 p.m. (ET), the Milwaukee Brewers at Chicago Cubs at 7:10 p.m. (ET)/6:10 p.m. (CT) and the Los Angeles Angels at Oakland Athletics at 10:10 p.m. (ET)/7:10 p.m. (PT). In addition, ESPN will present a “Sunday Night Baseball” doubleheader on Sunday, July 26th as the Braves visit the Mets at 7:08 p.m. (ET), followed by the Giants at Dodgers at 10:08 p.m. (ET)/7:08 p.m. (PT).

FOX will begin its 2020 national coverage on Saturday, July 25th with coverage of four Divisional matchups, including the Milwaukee Brewers at Chicago Cubs at 1:05 p.m. (ET)/12:05 p.m. (CT), the Giants at Dodgers at 4:10 p.m. (ET)/1:10 p.m. (PT) and the Yankees at Nationals at 7:15 p.m. (ET), as well as the Arizona Diamondbacks at San Diego Padres at 9:10 p.m. (ET)/6:10 p.m. (PT) on FS1.

MLB on TBS live game coverage will return on Sunday, July 26th with the Yankees at Nationals at 1:05 p.m. (ET), and will continue each Sunday through the end of the regular season.

MLB Network will air four live games through the first weekend of the season, beginning with an Opening Day doubleheader on July 24th featuring the Detroit Tigers at Cincinnati Reds at 6:10 p.m. (ET)/5:10 p.m. (CT), followed by the Seattle Mariners at Houston Astros at 9:10 p.m. (ET)/8:10 p.m. (CT). In two intradivision games, the Pittsburgh Pirates at St. Louis Cardinals will air on Saturday, July 25th at 2:15 p.m. (ET)/1:15 p.m. (CT), followed by the Angels at Athletics on Sunday, July 26th at 4:10 p.m. (ET)/1:10 p.m. (PT).

In addition to its live games, MLB Network’s comprehensive regular season studio programming lineup will return on July 23rd with MLB Central presented by Hyundai, High Heat with Christopher Russo presented by Liberty Mutual, The Rundown presented by Rocket Mortgage, MLB Now, Intentional Talk presented by Toro, MLB Tonight and Quick Pitch presented by Blue Emu, featuring previews, highlights, analysis and interviews. Leading up to its two games on Opening Day, MLB Tonight will provide wall-to-wall coverage featuring its signature live look-ins at games in progress.

MLB games will also be available to listeners nationwide on SiriusXM.

Among the other highlights of the 2020 regular season:

  • The first game at Globe Life Field, the new home of the Texas Rangers, will be played on Friday, July 24th as the Rangers host the Colorado Rockies at 8:05 p.m. (ET)/7:05 p.m. (CT).
  • “MLB at Field of Dreamsä presented by GEICO” between the Chicago White Sox and St. Louis Cardinals on Thursday, August 13th in Dyersville, Iowa on FOX at 7:15 p.m. (ET)/6:15 p.m. (CT). The historic game will be the first Major League game ever played in Iowa.
  • Major League Baseball will honor the 100th Anniversary of the founding of the Negro Leagues on Sunday, August 16th.
  • Jackie Robinson Day, which normally takes place each April 15th, will be celebrated throughout Major League Baseball on Friday, August 28th, which is the anniversary of the March on Washington in 1963, as well as the date in 1945 when Branch Rickey met with Jackie Robinson to discuss his future in the big leagues. The new date is representative of both Robinson’s journey to break the color barrier and his life as a civil rights activist.
  • Roberto Clemente Day will be celebrated across Major League Baseball on Wednesday, September 9th.

The final day of the 2020 regular season is scheduled for Sunday, September 27th. For the sixth consecutive year, all games played on the final scheduled day of the regular season will begin at 3:00 p.m. (ET), with potential Postseason ramifications at stake.

Please see the accompanying files or visit www.MLB.com for the complete 2020 American League and National League regular season schedules with game times.




Similar Posts on Mister Baseball


Powered by WordPress