Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Feb '13 08

Yaquis de Obregon (Mexico) claims 2013 Caribbean Series after 18-Inning Thriller

by International Baseball Federation, www.ibaf.org

Hermosillo, Mexico. The 2013 Caribbean Series is in the books. On Thursday evening Yaquis de Obregon from Mexico defeated Leones del Escodigo 4-3 in a marathon over 18 innings and 6 hours 59 minutes in the final. Doug Clark broke the tie with a solo home run in the top of the ninth extra inning. Both teams had exchanged runs in the 14th frame to extend the thriller. It was the longest game in Caribbean Series history.

The Dominicans from Escodigo had dominated the preliminary phase of the tournament, which caps traditionally the Winter League season in Central and South America. They had won five of the six games to advance easily to the final. Obregon (3-3) on the other hand needed a 10-0 shutout over Puerto Rico’s representative to make it into the title game.

Prior to the final the individual awards were announced with Luis Mendoza (MEX) of the Kansas City Royals claiming the MVP trophy after throwing 13 1/3 scoreless innings. Established in 1949 the Caribbean Series will return to Venezuela next year as part of the rotation between Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico and Venezuela. Margarita will host the 2014 event.


Friday, February 1
o Game 1 – Venezuela 2 vs. Dominican Republic 7
o Game 2 – Puerto Rico 0 vs. Mexico 3

Saturday, February 2
o Game 3 – Dominican Republic 6 vs. Puerto Rico 2
o Game 4 – Mexico 3 vs. Venezuela 4

Sunday, February 3
o Game 5 – Venezuela 3 vs. Puerto Rico 1
o Game 6 – Mexico 5 vs. Dominican Republic 6

Monday, February 4
o Game 7 – Puerto Rico 6 vs. Dominican Republic 4
o Game 8 – Venezuela 0 vs. Mexico 2

Tuesday, February 5
o Game 9 – Puerto Rico 4 vs. Venezuela 1
o Game 10 – Dominican Republic 11 vs. Mexico 6

Wednesday, February 6
o Game 11 – Dominican Republic 4 vs. Venezuela 2
o Game 12 – Mexico 10 vs. Puerto Rico 0

Thursday, February 7
o Final – Dominican Republic 3 vs. Mexico 4 (18)

Box scores, statistics and more information at MLB.com

Individual Honors:

  • MVP: Luis Mendoza (Mexico)
  • Manager: Audo Vicente (DR)
  • Catcher: Francisco Pena (DR)
  • Pitcher: Luis Mendoza (Mexico)
  • First base: Donell Linares (DR)
  • Second base: Jose Ramirez (DR)
  • Third base: Mario Lisson (Venezuela)
  • Shortstop: Miguel Tejada (DR)
  • Outfielder: Marlon Byrd (Mexico)
  • Outfielder: Ricardo Nanita (DR)
  • Outfielder: Doug Clark (Mexico)
  • Designated hitter: Barbaro Canizares (Puerto Rico)
  • Right-handed pitcher: Luis Mendoza (Mexico)
  • Left-handed pitcher: Efraim Nieves (Puerto Rico)
  • Relief pitcher: David Reyes (Mexico)
  • Closer: Saul Rivera (Puerto Rico)

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress