Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Sep '12 07

Netherlands announces Roster for European Championship

On the eve of the 2012 European Championship in Rotterdam, Haarlem and Utrecht, the Royal Dutch Baseball and Softball Association announced the roster of its team. There are several newcomers on the squad, compared to previous tournaments due to retirements and availability of professional players after the end of the minor leagues.

As usual the pitching staff will be led by Rob Cordemans and David Bergman, but will also feature former Major Leaguer Shairon Martis and fellow minor leaguers Juan Carlos Sulbaran, Tom Stuifbergen and Loek van Mil. Danny Arribas of the Pittsburgh Pirates will share catching duties with Rudy van Heydoorn and Quintin de Cuba after Sidney de Jong ended his international career after the Baseball World Cup.

Infield and outfield also gets reinforcements from the minors, as Curt Smith, Yurendell de Caster, Hainley Statia, Nick Urbanus and Kalian Sams are coming to the European Championship. No changes on the coaching staff. Manager Brian Farley is joined by pitching coach Steve Janssen, hitting coach Tjerk Smeets, first base coach Ben Thijssen and third base coach Wim Martinus.

The Netherlands are in Group B at the European Championship, playing against Germany, France, Great Britain, Czech Republic and Belgium with the neighbor their first opponent on Friday evening in Rotterdam.

Complete Roster:

Pitchers: Arshwin Asjes (Corendon Kinheim), David Bergman (Corendon Kinheim), Rob Cordemans (L&D Amsterdam), Berry van Driel (DOOR Neptunus), Shairon Martis (Minnesota Twins), Diegomar Markwell (DOOR Neptunus), Loek van Mil (Cleveland Indians), Tom Stuifbergen (Minnesota Twins), Juan Carlos Sulbaran (Kansas City Royals), Orlando Yntema (UVV).

Catchers: Rudy van Heydoorn (AamigoO AdoLakers), Danny Arribas (Pittsburgh Pirates), Quintin de Cuba (Corendon Kinheim).

Infielders: Yurendell de Caster (Winnipeg Goldeyes), Michael Duursma (Vaessen Pioniers), Bryan Engelhardt (Corendon Kinheim), Dwayne Kemp (DOOR Neptunus), Curt Smith (Miami Marlins), Hainley Statia (Milwaukee Brewers), Nick Urbanus (Texas Rangers)

Outfielders: Wesley Connor (L&D Amsterdam), Shaldimar Daantji (DOOR Neptunus), Danny Rombley (UVV), Kalian Sams (Seattle Mariners).

Coaching Staff: Brian Farley, Steve Janssen, Tjerk Smeets, Ben Thijssen, Wim Martinus

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress