Would you play baseball without a glove? No? Because it's a security risc? So why you're still surfing with Internet Explorer 6? It's also a security risc! Get Internet Explorer now (or let your IT Department do this for you)! And spread the word!
Latest Tweet:
Follow @MisterBaseball on Twitter!
Aug '08 09

Marlins win Spanish Championship with 6-0 shutout against FC Barcelona

MPC 000 401 001  6 14 0
FCB 000 000 000  0  3 3

The MARLINS PUERTO CRUZ are the old and new Spanish champion. They shut out the FC BARCELONA on Saturday 6-0 in the next to last game of the season. The final match on Sunday morning now is meaningless. It is the fourth straight title for the club from Tenerife.

Before the game day, both teams were separated by two games in the standings with BARCA needing to win both ends of the twin bill to win the championship. The MARLINS used their first match ball and closed the door thanks to a brilliant performance by starting pitcher Leslie Nacar. He allowed just two singles by Jorge Miqueleiz and a walk to Felix Isasi in eight scoreless innings, while striking out three.

After three scoreless innings to start the contest, PUERTO CRUZ came finally through in the fourth, when they loaded the bases and scored four runs. Nestor Perez drove in the 1-0 lead with a single. Victor Lopez followed with a three-run double to blow up the score. They added a pair of insurance runs on a RBI groundout by Juan Macias and a RBI double by Ricardo Rodriguez in the sixth and ninth period to seal the 6-0 win.

BARCELONA never got into the game, especially with their starting pitcher struggling. Homer Baez (L 11-2), who lost just for the second time of the season, gave up nine hits, five runs (3 ER) and two walks in five-plus innings.  The offense was not able to start a rally in the end.

Complete Results on the last Division de Honor Game Day on Sunday evening. Recaps at the beginning of next week.


# Team W L R+ R- .pct GB Streak
1 Marlins Puerto Cruz 27 5 196 70 .843 0 L1
2 FC Barcelona 25 7 183 68 .781 2 W1
3 Sant Boi 24 8 190 81 .750 3 W2
4 El Llano 20 12 169 107 .625 7 L2
5 San Inazio 16 16 139 147 .500 11 W1
6 Béisbol Navarra 15 17 168 135 .468 12 L1
7 C.B. Viladecans 11 21 105 131 .343 16 W4
8 C.D. Pamplona 6 26 89 216 .187 21 L10
9 Astros 0 32 49 333 .000 27 L32

Similar Posts on Mister Baseball

Powered by WordPress